Provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, business, economics, education, history, literature, music, psychology, religion, and science and technology.
An expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content (more than 4,800 titles) including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles. Full-text available.
Less than 30% of psychologists report familiarity with transgender and gender nonconforming clients' needs. There is clearly a gap in knowledge, skill, and competence in this area. This clinical guide fills that gap by providing mental health practitioners with an affirmative approach that emphasizes a collaborative partnership guided by client-driven goals.
The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality.
The Encyclopedia of Gender covers psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior. Coverage includes studies of these differences in applied settings such as education, business, the home, in politics, sports competition, etc.
Explores the challenges faced by SM and TGNC clients today. Experts in the field examine how the concepts of gender and sexual orientation are both socioculturally constructed and can be informed by biologically focused research, thus setting the stage for flexible, affirmative mental health services.
This comprehensive resource explores the role of science and scientific discovery in the nature versus pathology debate surrounding homosexuality. Chronicles the evolution of scientific opinion about gay, lesbian, transgender, and bisexual people from the Victorian era to the new millennium.
This original and engaging text explores the core concepts in feminist theory. This text will be an invaluable tool for students taking courses in feminist theory and research methods, and students across the social sciences who are taking courses concerned with issues of gender.
Throughout their relatively short history, lesbian and gay movements in the United States have endured searing conflicts over whether to embrace assimilationist or liberationist strategies.The Lesbian and Gay Movements explores this dilemma in both contemporary and historical contexts, describing the sources of these conflicts, to what extent the conflicts have been resolved, and how they might be resolved in future.
This book is a theoretical and practical guide for individuals who teach and train about lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender, queer and questioning (LGBTQ) psychology in diverse groups and settings.