What is open access? Nick Shockey and Jonathan Eisen take us through the world of open access publishing and explain just what it's all about.
Open Access Resources
Open Access Resources, or OARs, refers to freely available, digital, information. Open access scholarly literature is freely available online but, like all intellectual property, it still carries restrictive copyright and licensing barriers, albeit less restrictive than for profit or traditionally published works. Scholarly OARs, such as open access journals, comply with the well-established, peer-review processes, and rigorous publishing standards.
For more information, please see Peter Suber's "Open Access Overview: Focusing on open access to peer-reviewed research articles and their prepints".
the originator of Digital Commons, BePress (Berkeley Electronic Press) makes it possible for academic institutions to develop repositories of scholarly works. Search the entire Digital Commons Network containing more than a million documents from over 330 institutions.
"From the Library of Congress, digitized newspapers from 1836-1922 can be browsed and searched by state, keyword or advanced search. Additional links are available to a newspaper title directory for publications from 1690 – present.
University of Michigan's institutional repository of scholarly documents produced by UM faculty and graduate across a range of subject areas, with more than 24,000 full-text documents in Health Sciences.
Brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. Search and scan through the united collection of millions of items, including by timeline, map, virtual bookshelf, format, subject, and partner.
DSpace is a open access platform for developing and managing an institutional repository of digital documents, images, and multimedia. Hundreds of universities around the world use DSpace, as well as many other types of institutions. On this directory page, you can search for a repository or browse by location or type of institution. Top universities include MIT, Cambridge, Harvard and more.
HathiTrust makes the digitized collections of some of the nation’s great research libraries available for all. HathiTrust has partnerships with over 90 institutions providing more than a million open access.
This free table of contents searching service by JournalTOC searches over 24,000 scholarly journal table of contents allowing you to find recent and authoritative information on your search topic. When you find a citation for a useful article, use NCU Library’s Find a Resource to see if we subscribe to this publication and to view the full text, or submit an Interlibrary Loan request.
provides access to “hundreds of thousands of articles in the public domain” in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, and Medicine. To search effectively, select Search and select “include only content I can access.”
hosted by OCLC, who also maintains Wordcat.org, this database is a cooperative open library catalog of over 30 million records from more than 1,500 sources. Users can use advanced search features to search open access resources in full-text through this one, easy to use search interface
founded in 2008 by a small group of academics at the University of Cambridge, Open Book Publishers publishes monographs and textbooks in the Humanities and Social Sciences. All books are available to read for free online.
"Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks." The database contains millions of copyright free books and speeches, all available for free download.