Provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, business, economics, education, history, literature, music, psychology, religion, and science and technology.
An expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content (more than 4,800 titles) including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles. Full-text available.
An exciting reference work which captures current thinking about the workings of the mind and brain, focusing on problems that are as old as recorded history, but reflecting new approaches and techniques that have emerged since the 1980s.
"Drug Abuse" in Encyclopedia of Global Health
by Katherine Schlaefer
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia entry addresses drug abuse on a global scale.
Addictive drugs affect brain function by acting at specialized receptors for the endogenous chemical messengers that affect communication between nerve cells.
"Sociology of Drug Abuse and Addiction" in The Social History of Crime and Punishment in America
by Jennifer Murphy
Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia entry addresses the sociology of drug abuse and addiction, including drug policy, drug treatment, the labeling of drug abuse and addiction, subcultures of drug use, theories of drug abuse, and trends in drug use.
Gathers addiction recovery tools (both Eastern and Western) into one single volume and provides practitioners with an easy to read how-to book on when and how to use the different recovery tools available.
Volume 2 also has three major sections. These sections examine the many aspects associated with recovery from addiction, the prevention of addiction, and other essential issues commonly associated with addiction.
The scope includes behavioral addictions such as eating disorders, gambling and compulsive shopping. Preparation of the profession is heavily featured in numerous articles on standards, training, ethics and professional organizations.
The Handbook of Implicit Cognition and Addiction features the work of an internationally renowned group of contributing North American and European authors who draw together developments in basic research on implicit cognition with recent developments in addiction research.