Skip to main content

Research Process

These pages offer an introduction to the research process at a very general level.

Cited References

Your first step in finding similar resources should be to thoroughly examine the reference list of your article to identify the sources used by the author(s). Keep in mind that the sources included in the bibliography will be older, given that you are moving backwards in time. However, there may be seminal works or key authors on that topic which you will not want to overlook.

If a title listed in your article’s reference list looks particularly promising, you may want to search for this new article in the Library. You can easily do this by copying/pasting the article title into the Roadrunner Search box on the Library’s home page. See the Finding Specific Articles FAQ for further instructions on locating an article by title.

A number of Library databases will include hyperlinks to Cited References. While you can always review a list of references at the end of any scholarly or peer-reviewed article, a number of databases will make it simpler for you by providing a hyperlinked Reference list with full-text PDFs or link resolvers connecting you immediately to the full-text reference.

Article Linker will connect you to the full text resource within another Library database if it is available. If Article Linker does not connect you to the full text, you may want to consider requesting the item through InterLibrary Loan (see Interlibrary Loan FAQs).

Below is a comprehensive list of Library databases with accompanying screenshots which provide hyperlinked Reference lists. Each individual reference will either have a PDF file available for immediate viewing or may feature our link resolver button, Article Linker.

Cited References in Library Databases

Available only from the Full-Text HTML view

EBSCOhost Databases [not available in MEDLINE, OmniFile Full Text Select, or Regional Business News]

Select the "References Available" limiter to only see results with hyperlinked Cited References.


Click "Show Preview" to expand the References view.


Loading