Below is a list of current virtual library workshops offered by NCU Library staff and corresponding descriptions:
Advanced Search Skills: Join Librarian Amanda Bezet for the Advanced Search Skills Workshop. This engaging, skill-building session will dive deep into database search techniques. Go beyond basic keyword searching to mastering Boolean operators, truncation, phrases, subject terms, field codes, and proximity. Come prepared to share your questions and learn from Amanda and your fellow peers. Attend as often as you like!
Am I Done? A Deep Dive into Finding More Research with Web of Knowledge: Have you exhausted all your searches? Do you feel like you're running in circles and finding the same research articles over and over and over..you get it...again? Are you unsure if there's more literature available on your topic? Join Librarian Sherry Mohr for an in-depth look at Web of Knowledge, a great research tool for discovering seminal and high impact articles as well as determining whether more research exists on your topic. This engaging, skill-building session will dive deep into the world of topic searching, seminal research, and building citation maps. Go beyond basic keyword searching to discover the endless possibilities. Come prepared to share your questions and learn from Sherry and your fellow peers.
Decoding Databases Series - Statista, Gale, etc.: With more than 125 databases, the NCU Library provides access to subject-specific resources for research. Join Librarian Marisha Kelly for Decoding Databases, a workshop series that reveals unique features, content, and tools in select databases. This week, learn about Gale resources. Experience a hands-on approach and discover specific strategies for researching in these particular databases.
Get it with Interlibrary Loan: An Overview: Expand your access to research resources with the NCU Library’s Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service. This free service allows you to electronically request and receive articles, book chapters, and more when full-text is unavailable. During this workshop, you’ll learn how to access your interlibrary loan account, and take a tour of the new interlibrary loan service system Tipasa, making it easy for you to request, track, and receive items.
Google for School: This is not your basic Google search. Join Librarian Marisha Kelly for this one-hour session where you’ll learn tips and tricks to maximize Google for obtaining scholarly resources. Using Google Scholar, you’ll practice advanced search techniques and research strategies and learn to apply particular settings to your browser to view peer-reviewed articles, books, legal information, and author profiles. Explore additional Google tools through a research lens like Google Search, Google Dataset Search, and Google Trends.
JFK College of Law: Legal Research 101: Join Law Librarian Jamie Diermier for an informative, interactive skills-building workshop that will review legal research strategies, databases, and specific legal materials and resources you’ll need to succeed in the JD program. Come prepared to share your questions and learn from Jamie and your fellow peers. Attend as often as you like!
Learn the Library: Business Databases Series: Are you new to the School of Business? Join Librarian Sherry for this introductory workshop on Business research databases available from the Library. Sherry will demonstrate and discuss resources for locating consumer and market research. Sample database searches will be performed, and there will be time for questions and answers.
Learn the Library: Education Databases: Join Librarian Amanda Bezet for the Learn the Library: Education Databases Workshop. This engaging, skill-building session will review the best Library resources for education-related research. Learn how to locate background information, scholarly journal articles, dissertations, statistics, and more. Sample database searches will be performed, and there will be time for questions and answers.
Learn the Library: Psychology & Marriage and Family Science Databases: Join Librarian Amanda Bezet for the Learn the Library: Psychology & MFS Databases Workshop. This engaging, skill-building session will review the best Library resources for these disciplines. Learn how to locate background information, scholarly journal articles, dissertations, statistics, and more. Sample database searches will be performed, and there will be time for questions and answers.
Library Basic Training: Are you starting your doctoral journey at NCU? Library Basic Training goes beyond Library Orientation to review the most important resources for your dissertation research. Learn how to search for scholarly articles and dissertations, place Interlibrary Loan requests, find information about research methodology and design, use Google Scholar, and more.
Library Dissertation Toolbox Series: Join Librarian Amanda Bezet for the Library Dissertation Toolbox Workshop Series. These engaging, skill-building workshops are designed specifically for doctoral students. Learn how to effectively locate, evaluate, and use information relating to your dissertation research topic. This week learn how to effectively search for theoretical and conceptual frameworks. Come prepared to share your questions and learn from Amanda and your fellow peers.
RefWorks Power Hour: Introduction to RefWorks: Join Librarian Marisha Kelly for this one-hour session where you’ll learn to leverage RefWorks, a web-based citation management tool, for collecting, organizing, and formatting your research. Explore features like storing your references, creating an annotated bibliography, and adding citations to a Word document. Whether you are new to RefWorks or seeking guidance on advanced functions, bring your questions and a working list of references for tips and tricks.
RefWorks PLUS+: Exploring Advanced Features and Tools for Research Management: Join Librarian Marisha Kelly for this one-hour session on customizing your settings and exploring advanced features in RefWorks, a web-based research management tool. You'll go beyond the basics and focus on configuring custom fields, sharing projects, tagging sources, finding duplicates, and annotating documents. Further maximize your use of RefWorks by learning how to integrate tools like Dropbox, Google Scholar, and Kopernio. RefWorks Power Hour: Introduction to RefWorks workshop is a pre-requisite for this session.
Running Research with Roadrunner: Join Librarian Marisha Kelly for this one-hour session where you’ll learn the ins-and-outs of Roadrunner, the NCU Library’s unified search engine. As a research discovery tool, Roadrunner provides you with access to scholarly content and resources on a single search platform. Build your understanding while uncovering Roadrunner’s features and recognizing how search results are populated and ranked. Explore additional tools for more efficient and effective searching within the interface.
The Write Stuff: Tools for Research and Writing presented by the Academic Success Center and the NCU Library: This interactive session will provide you with an introduction to research and writing tools available within the Academic Success Center and the NCU Library. An ASC coach and NCU librarian will review content and resources geared toward academic success. Discover tools like Grammarly, RefWorks, SAGE Research Methods, and APA’s Academic Writer, and learn how to integrate them for efficient researching and effective writing. Whether you are a new or current student, you are encouraged to attend and bring questions.