Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Learn the Library

This guide contains resources for learning how to use NCU Library and accessing its resources.

Group Sessions

The NCU Library offers a variety of live group sessions. We encourage students to first explore the Library Events page and the group's sessions offered to work with our Library team and other students live on a variety of research topics and skill levels. Below is a list of some highly recommend group sessions. Please visit the Library Events page to view all group sessions, including school-specific group sessions that focus on resources specific to each school. 


Image showing a path through a maze Library Orientation - This group session will introduce students to the Library's website and will provide instruction on how to access the Library's research resources and services. This is a key group session for all students to start with

 


 

Image showing paper and magnifying glass Advanced Search Skills - This engaging, skill-building session will dive deep into database search techniques. Go beyond basic keyword searching to mastering Boolean operators, truncation, phrases, subject terms, field codes, and proximity. Come prepared to share your questions.

 


 

Image of a roadrunner bird Running Research with Roadrunner - This session will teach you the ins-and-outs of Roadrunner, the NCU Library’s unified search engine. As a research discovery tool, Roadrunner provides you with access to scholarly content and resources on a single search platform. Build your understanding while uncovering Roadrunner’s features and recognizing how search results are populated and ranked. Explore additional tools for more efficient and effective searching within the interface.


 

Image showing two graduates with a cap and tassel Library Basic Training - Perfect for students starting their doctoral journey at NCU. Library Basic Training reviews the most important resources for your dissertation research. Learn how to search for scholarly articles and dissertations, place Interlibrary Loan requests, find information about research methodology and design, use Google Scholar, and more.

One-on-One Sessions

Below are our current one-on-one session offerings. Each one-on-one offers a specific type of assistance. Please review them thoroughly and if you need assistance deciding which session would be best for you, speak with a Library team member through our Ask Us! page.

For questions or assistance with assignment interpretation or specific requirements, please speak with your course instructor. 


Research Smart: Getting Started is a one-on-one session that provides students with the opportunity to learn how to conduct research, find relevant resources, and explore ways to effectively build upon knowledge within their fields of study. Sessions are personalized toward student needs and provide students with the insight and tools needed for successfully completing assignments and establishing a research routine.

Recommended prior to signing up for this session:

Schedule a Research Smart: Getting Started Session


RefWorks on Demand is a one-on-one support service providing basic troubleshooting and technology instruction on RefWorks, the NCU Library's research management tool.

Areas of Assistance

  • Reviewing installation requirements for the Save to RefWorks tool, Microsoft Word Write-N-Cite, or ProQuest RefWorks Citation Manager;
  • Addressing specific questions on adding resources, creating bibliographies, and annotating documents in RefWorks;
  • Troubleshooting basic functionality of RefWorks and its associated tools;
  • Account issues and access.

Required Prior to Session

 

Schedule a RefWorks on Demand Session


Image with a student using a laptop. Text reads Research Consultation.

Research Consultations are live, one-on-one sessions that provide in-depth, high-level, and customized research assistance with a reference librarian. These sessions are NOT meant to provide basic Library navigation and searching skills. Research consultations are most beneficial for students who have a clearly identified research topic and have already done significant research on their own.

Research Consultation Areas of Assistance: 

  • Developing your search strategy
  • Identifying relevant databases and journals
  • Finding and evaluating information resources
  • Discovering alternative search terms for your topic
  • Using advanced search techniques for specific databases
  • Narrowing your search results

If you need help with APA, Mechanics, Style of Writing, Synthesis, Analysis, or Citation Formatting, please contact the Academic Success Center for support.

Please review all requirements for a Research Consultation prior to signing up on our Research Consultations page

Schedule a Research Consultation Session

 


Recorded Video Research Consultations provide in-depth, high-level, and customized research assistance with a reference librarian. These 30-minute sessions will be recorded and emailed to you within 3 business days (Monday - Friday).

These sessions are NOT meant to provide basic Library navigation and searching skills. For help with basic library techniques, please schedule a Research Smart session. 

Research consultations are most beneficial for students who have a clearly identified research topic and have already done significant research on their own.

Research Consultation Areas of Assistance: 

  • Developing your search strategy
  • Identifying relevant databases and journals
  • Finding and evaluating information resources
  • Discovering alternative search terms for your topic
  • Using advanced search techniques for specific databases
  • Narrowing your search results

If you need help with APA, Mechanics, Style of Writing, or Citation Formatting, please contact the Academic Success Center for support.

Schedule a Recorded Video Research Consultation

Legal Research Support

JFK Legal Research Training Consultation service provides one-on-one legal research support for JFK College of Law students in the JD Law and BA Legal Studies programs. Legal specialist librarians, Jamie or Sherry, will sit down with you over Zoom to assist with:

  • Locating secondary and primary law resources within WestlawEdge, Lexis+, and other databases
  • Training on important legal materials and how they can help you in your research process
  • How to get started on your legal research assignment

Please refer to the JFK page, or go directly to the JFK legal research appointment booking page to make an appointment. Please be as detailed as possible when filling out the form.

Schedule a Legal Research Consultation


JFK Recorded Video Research Consultations
Recorded Video Legal Research Consultations are sessions that provide customized legal research assistance with a reference librarian. These sessions will be recorded and emailed to you within 3 business days (Monday - Friday). 
Note: Librarians cannot provide legal advice, including how to analyze materials or what conclusions to draw from the resources; we can only point you to the resources - from there, inquire with your professor for help with analysis. 

 

Areas of Assistance: 
  • Guidance on developing your search strategy
  • Receive clarification and education on types of legal resources (i.e. primary vs. secondary)
If you need help with legal writing and citations, please contact the Academic Success Center for support.

 

Schedule a Recorded Legal Research Consultation

NCU Library Home

ASC Home

CTL Home

IRB Home

DSE Home

ADE Home

JFK Resource Home