Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Interlibrary Loan

This is the NCU Library Guide to using Interlibrary Loan, a free borrowing service provided to the NCU community.

Academic Libraries

Access to an academic library provides an important resource for your study at Northcentral University. Academic collections support higher-level education. Most university libraries allow any users to browse the collection, make photocopies and access online databases in house for free. Some public-funded and private universities will issue a library card to a non-affiliated individual or a local business with a fee. The library card for a non-affiliated community member also has more limited privileges that usually include book loan and article photocopies only, no interlibrary loan or remote access to databases.

Some academic libraries may even allow checkout privileges with proof that you are a student. NCU provides students with an ID card upon request. You may request an ID card via your Academic Advisor, or by sending a request to idcard@ncu.edu.

Public Libraries

Access to a public library provides an important resource for your study at Northcentral University. In the U.S., public libraries allow any patron to borrow through interlibrary loan, provide borrowing privileges from their collection, make photocopies and access online databases in house or via the Internet. The public library may be part of a larger network of libraries that may include colleges and universities.

Someone in a rural area may be able to obtain a public library card from a close metropolitan library, community college, or a county library with no or low cost in order to access online databases via the Internet.

State Electronic Libraries

Special Libraries

Special libraries cover a specific discipline or serve a special group of people.

Examples of special libraries include corporate libraries, law libraries (affiliated to law firms or courts), medical libraries (affiliated to medical research center or hospitals), libraries of advocacy organizations, professional associations, research centers, etc. Although only a few special libraries are open to the public, they can provide more in-depth information on their specialized subjects than other types of libraries.

Usually, if you are a member of a professional association or employee of a bigger company, you will have access to its special library. The reference librarians who oversee these libraries are generally very knowledgeable, and therefore a great resource.

Browser Plugins & Extensions

What is Library Extension? 

Library Extension is a browser plugin that allows you to instantly see book and e-book availability from your local library.

Currently, the browser plugin/extension is compatible with Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox.


Installing Library Extension

Add the extension to your browser to get started:


Using Library Extension

Library Extension allows you to view instant availability information for books, music, and audiobooks from your public library as you browse various sites, including Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Good Reads, and Google Books. More than 5,000 libraries across Australia, Canada, Germany, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States are supported through the tool with information displaying from local catalogs. Click here to see if your local public or academic library is supported.

As you search for resources, the Library Extension tool will display results for items held in local libraries you have defined. 

Amazon.com Library Extension tool displaying on resource page

Barnes & Noble Library Extension tool displaying on resource page

Good Reads Library Extension tool displaying on resource page

Google Books Library Extension tool displaying on resource page

What is Kopernio? 

Kopernio is a browser plugin that allows users to access full-text PDFs of resources for free, when available.

Currently, the browser plugin/extension is compatible with Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, and Opera.


Installing Kopernio

Add the extension to your browser to get started:


Using Kopernio

Kopernio is designed to fit into your existing literature workflow and works with thousands of academic repositories. It helps you access full-text article PDFs on Web of Science, Pubmed, and 20,000 other academic platforms. 

If Kopernio detects available open access or publisher versions of an article, click the View PDF icon on the page as shown in the image below.

Access full text articles through Kopernio

What is Unpaywall? 

Unpaywall is a browser plugin that allows users to access full-text PDFs of resources for free, when available. The tool harvests content directly from over 50,000 journals and open-access repositories from all over the world, and it uses great open data from PubMed Central, the DOAJ, Crossref (particularly their license information), and DataCite.

Currently, the browser plugin/extension is compatible with Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox.


Installing Unpaywall

Add the extension to your browser to get started:


Using Unpaywall

When you see the green unlock tab on a webpage, click it to read the full-text of a research article.

Access full-text articles through Unpaywall if there is an active green unlock icon on the webpage

NCU Library Home

ASC Home

CTL Home

IRB Home

DSE Home

ADE Home