Skip to main content

About Us

About the Northcentral University Library, its services, staff, and available resources

What is a Liaison Librarian?

Northcentral University (NCU) Library's liaison librarians are subject specialists. In addition to providing the highest level of support in the area of information literacy, liaison librarians serve as the primary contact between the Library and their schools. This model improves communication and provides outreach opportunities between the library and the NCU community, enables the Library to make more qualitative and data-informed collection development and service improvement decisions, and provides increased visibility for the Library across the university. Liaison librarians advise students, faculty, and staff on library resources, services, and policies. Additionally, they offer numerous specialized services, including the following:

  • Discipline-specific reference support
  • In-depth, personalized research consultations
  • Library instruction
  • Faculty support
  • Collection development and analysis
  • Creation of subject guides that correspond to each of the academic specializations at NCU

Liaison librarians establish and maintain regular communication with colleagues in their schools regarding Library resources, services, policies, and usage data/trends. Communication includes, but is not limited to, the following:

  • Posting Library announcements to the Schools’ groups in the Commons
  • Emailing the school deans when appropriate
  • Attending/presenting at school meetings when appropriate
  • Attending/presenting at university meetings, including Symposium and Academic Summit
  • Presenting at student orientations
  • Presenting at Dissertation Boot Camp and DCP Intensive Course

Additional details about liaison librarian services appear in the sections below.

Contact Your Liaison Librarian

Reference Services

The NCU Library is dedicated to supporting student learning and success in the area of information literacy. Students can reach library specialists for general, live reference support via Ask a Librarian, chat, email, phone, and text message. All contact information is included on the Library’s home page.

Reference assistance from liaison librarians is a distinct service consisting of discipline-specific, advanced research support. Weekly office hours are posted on the Library Events page. Faculty may also partner with a liaison librarian to create a personalized support plan for one or more students.

Instruction Services

Liaison librarians create and present subject-specific instructional sessions including recorded library workshops and quick tutorial videos. Liaison librarians may collaborate with faculty members to create new instructional resources or sessions based on student needs.

Liaison librarians provide advanced assistance to meet students’ specific research needs in the form of in-depth, personalized, one-on-one research consultations. Research consultations are most beneficial to doctoral students who are already familiar with basic library search techniques, have a clearly identified research topic, and have already done significant research on their own.

Curriculum Support Services

Liaison librarians are dedicated to supporting the NCU curriculum by providing high-quality resources, including databases, journals, videos, library guides, etc. Faculty may contact liaison librarians for assistance with the following:

  • Course revision support (i.e., locating resources to replace outdated or irrelevant sources in the current syllabus)
  • Creating effective assignments utilizing Library resources
  • Locating persistent URLs for Library resources
  • Creating or updating Library subject and course guides
  • Assistance with copyright questions
  • Library collection holdings review for new programs
  • Requests for new databases or collections (including demos and trials)

Additional Resources: