Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RefWorks

NCU Library's preferred research management tool.

RefWorks Tools & Plug-Ins

Write-N-Cite is a plugin that allows you to run an abbreviated version of RefWorks and access your references by folder in Microsoft Word. 

With Write-N-Cite, you can cite references in your document with just a click and watch your paper format instantly including in-text citations, footnotes, and your bibliography.  The utility installs a RefWorks tab in the MS Word ribbon, or you can access it from the References tab in Microsoft Word.
RefWorks Microsoft Word Ribbon

RefWorks in Microsoft Word

Working online or offline is seamless – no need to be connected to the internet – and you can share documents between the Windows and Mac versions of Write-N-Cite seamlessly.
 

To install Write N Cite, use the following steps: 

  1. In the main navigation, click on the Tools icon and select Tools.                                                            Tools menu icon
  2. You will be redirected to the installation page. Scroll down to the Cite References in your Word Processing section to access the download for installation. Cite Reference in Your Word Processor section under Tools


Write-N-Cite for Windows version 4.4.1376 System Requirements:

  • Windows Operating System
  • Windows 8 or later 
  • 256 MB of RAM
  • 20 MB of available hard-disk space
  • Internet connectivity (for downloading of tool and periodic database synchronization)

Write-N-Cite for Windows works best with Word 2013 and 2016 (32 bit versions). This version will NOT work with Word 2007 or Win 7, both which are no longer supported by Microsoft. Word 2007 and/or Win 7 users should use our Quick Cite feature or our Google Docs Add-on.

NOTE: Write-N-Cite will not work with Office 365 users using cloud-based app.  Word must be installed locally.

 
  XP, Vista, Win 7 (32 bit) Win 7 (64 bit) Win 8 (32 bit) Win 8 (64 bit) Win 10 (64 bit)
Office 2007 (32 bit) No No No No No
Office 2010 (32 bit) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Office 2010 (64 bit) No Yes, but may encounter install errors.Contact RefWorks Tech Support for help. No Yes, but may encounter install errors. Contact RefWorks Tech Support for help. No
Office 2013 (32 bit) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Office 2013 (64 bit) No Yes No Yes Yes
Office 2016 (32 bit) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Office 2016 (64 bit) No Yes No Yes Yes

Write-N-Cite version 4.4.1237 for Mac:

  • Works with OS X 10.11 ( El Capitan), 10.10 (Yosemite), 10.9 (Mavericks), 10.6 (Snow Leopard), 10.7 (Lion) and 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
  • Word 2011 and  2008.
  • Mac OX 10.9 and 10.10 users must download Java 6 from Apple's support site replacing any previously installed versions: http://support.apple.com/kb/dl1572


NOTE: Write-N-Cite for Mac does NOT work with Word 2016 at this time.

RefWorks Citation Manager is a plugin for Microsoft Word that lets you run a simplified version of RefWorks inside Word. RefWorks Citation Manager is a newer, more modern version of Write-N-Cite.

RefWorks Citation Manager is available through the Microsoft Store and can be installed directly from Microsoft Word. By default, Office automatically updates RefWorks Citation Manager whenever a new version becomes available.

Features:

  • Provides read-only access to your RefWorks account, enabling you to view and insert your previously collated references into your document, formatted using previously defined citation styles.
  • You can add inline citations. Adding a citation also adds a bibliography to the end of the document. As you add or remove references, the plugin automatically updates the bibliography.
  • Every time you log into RefWorks Citation Manager, it automatically synchronizes with your RefWorks account.

NOTE:

  • Macintosh users of Microsoft Office 2016 MUST USE RefWorks Citation Manager. Windows users of Microsoft Office 2016 users can choose whether to use Write-N-Cite or RefWorks Citation Manager.
  • Codes inserted by Write-N-Cite are not recognized by RefWorks Citation Manager, and vice versa. You MUST choose which tool you would like to use.
  • RefWorks Citation Manager provides limited access to your RefWorks account, and does not enable you to make changes to your references.
  • If you have documents with codes that were added using RefWorks Citation Manager associated with legacy RefWorks, RefWorks Citation Manager can convert these codes to (new) RefWorks. RefWorks Citation Manager cannot otherwise manage older codes.
  1. In Microsoft Word, select Insert > Store and search for RefWorks.
  2. RefWorks Citation Manager will be listed. Select Add to install; it opens in the right sidebar. NOTE: ​If you close the sidebar, you can redisplay it by selecting Insert > My Add-ins > RefWorks Citation Manager.RefWorks Citation Manager in Word                                                                               
  3. Log into RefWorks. Synchronizing data with your RefWorks account may take a few moments, especially on your first login. Once you are logged in, the sidebar updates with your references. NOTE: If someone else was logged into this instance of Word, select Log Out in the action menu and log back into your account.RefWorks Citation Manager in Word Login                                               
  4. An action menu is available on the left of the sidebar, and a configuration menu is available when you select the top right of the sidebar.

                                                                                      RefWorks Citation Manager Menu                                                                                                             

  5. To set the citation style, select Change Citation Style in the action menu. A dialog box appears in the right sidebar. Select the style and select Update. Every time you perform this action, all citations and the bibliography will be updated to the new style.

RefWorks for Google Docs is a plugin for Google Docs that lets you run a simplified version of RefWorks inside of Google Docs. RefWorks for Google Docs enables you to access and cite your references while working in Google Docs.

Features:

  • Provides read-only access to your RefWorks account, enabling you to view and insert your previously collated references into your document, formatted using previously defined citation styles.
  • You can add inline citations. Adding a citation also adds a bibliography to the end of the document. As you add or remove references, the plugin automatically updates the bibliography.
  • When you share your document with another user who is using RefWorks for Google Docs, they can edit and delete any RefWorks references in the document and can add their own references to the document.
  • Every time you log into RefWorks for Google Docs, it automatically synchronizes with your RefWorks account.
  1. Open a blank document and select Add-ons > Get Add-ons and search for RefWorks.

    RefWorks add-on for Google docs

     
  2. Select Free and Allow to add RefWorks for Google Docs.
  3. Select Add-ons > ProQuest RefWorks > Manage citations. A RefWorks sidebar opens on the right.

    RefWorks for Google Docs Log in Screen

     
  4. Whenever you open the sidebar, as long as you did not log out after your last session, you are still logged in. If you are logged out, enter your credentials to log into RefWorks. Your references appear in the sidebar.

    RefWorks for Google Docs Reference View

     
  5. To set the citation style, select Change citation style in the configuration menu, select a citation style, and select Update. Every time you perform this action, all citations and the bibliography will be updated to the new style.

1.   Start writing and when you are ready to insert your first citation, select Add-ons > ProQuest RefWorks > Manage Citations. 

Google Docs screenshot showing the ProQuest RefWorks link under the Add-ons tab.

2.   If this is your first time using the RefWorks add-on, you’ll be asked to log in to your RefWorks account. Once you’ve logged in, you don’t need to log out unless you’re on a public computer.

Google Docs screenshot showing the ProQuest RefWorks login screen.

3.   The right-hand pane will change, defaulting to your RefWorks All references view.

Google Docs screenshot showing the RefWorks "All references" default.

4.   If you want to work with a RefWorks folder of references, just click on All references to see your list of folders.  Choose the collection with the references you need for your paper.  You can also use the Search option to search for specific references.  The search option searches all fields in a reference record.

Google Docs screenshot showing the RefWorks folder drop-down menu under "All references."

Google Docs screenshot showing the RefWorks Search box.

5.   You can start writing your paper and when you are ready to cite a reference in RefWorks, click on the citation and click the Cite This button. The in-text citation will be inserted (using the last output style you used in RefWorks).

Google Docs screenshot with an arrow pointing to the "Cite this" button.

6.   There is also a citation editing option.  Click Edit and Cite to add page numbers, hide the author name, or hide the publication year in your in-text citation (dependent upon the output style you are using). You will also see a preview of the in-text citation and your bibliography entry.

Google Docs screenshot showing the RefWorks "Edit citation" feature.

Continue to add citations and watch your bibliography update right in front of you. 

You can also add footnotes (make sure your output style supports them!) by using Google Docs footnote option (Insert, Footnote):

Google Docs screenshot with an arrow pointing to Footnote link under the Insert tab.

Changing your output style

There are two ways you can change your output style for your paper:

  1.  In the RefWorks pane in your document, click on the options icon  and select Change citation style.

Google Docs screenshot showing the RefWorks "Change citation style" link.

Google Docs screenshot showing the RefWorks "Set citation style" feature.

  1. Or, you can select any reference from the list and click the Cite and Edit button and change the style:

Google Docs screenshot showing the RefWorks "Edit citation" feature.

NOTE: Custom output styles are currently not accessible.


Deleting or changing citations

  1. Highlight the citation you wish to delete and use the backspace key or delete key to remove it.
  2. Insert the new citation (if applicable).
  3. Click on the options icon  and select Update document.  Your document will refresh and the bibliography entry will be removed or updated (if you added a replacement citation).

Google Docs screenshot showing the RefWorks "Update document" link.

Any additions, changes, or deletions you make in your RefWorks account are automatically synched with the Google Docs Add-on.

NOTE: Changes are NOT made to any in-text citations or the bibliography in your document.

Collaborating with Others

Google makes it easy to collaborate with others on your paper.  Now you can take that a step further by collaborating with other RefWorks users! Share your document with anyone who has a RefWorks account. In addition to adding and editing text to your document, users can also add in-text citations and footnotes from their RefWorks account. There are two ways you can share your document with others.

To share your document with someone who does NOT have a RefWorks account:

1.   Click the share icon â€‹.

2.   Enter the email address of the person you want to share with.

Google Docs screenshot showing the RefWorks collaborate icon.

 

3.   The person will receive an email with a link to create a RefWorks account and then access your document with the can edit permission. Note that you can modify the permission by clicking on the Share button and selecting “can comment or can viewYou can even collaborate using the same set of references by sharing your RefWorks collection with your collaboratorsNOTE:  Anyone you share with can also delete in-text citations that you included in your document; however, they cannot delete references from your RefWorks account.


To share your document with someone who has a RefWorks account:

1.   Click the Share button  in the upper right-hand corner.  The Share settings box will open with access to several options:

Google Docs screenshot showing the RefWorks "Get shareable link."

2.   Via the Advanced settings you can change the access setting if desired (the default setting is specific people).

Google Docs screenshot showing the RefWorks "Sharing settings" page.

The Change link will allow you to modify how your document is shared.

Google Docs screenshot showing the RefWorks "Link sharing" feature.

3.   Enter the email addresses of the people you wish to share the document with. If they do not have a RefWorks account, they will be asked to create one. You can even collaborate using the same set of references by sharing your RefWorks collection with your collaborators. NOTE: Anyone you share with can also delete in-text citations you’ve included in your document; however, they cannot delete references from your RefWorks account.

 

 

The Save to RefWorks bookmarklet is a button installed on your internet browser that allows you to scan the bibliographic content of a webpage and save it to your RefWorks library.  

Install in your internet browser's bookmark/favorites bar (Internet Explorer, Firefox, or Chome). Once installed in your bookmarks bar, you can easily save citations from Library databases and websites, such as Google Scholar, PubMed, and more. If the full text is available from a website, RefWorks will save it. When you save content from the NCU Library Databases, you will see a link in the RefWorks citation that says "Find full text using link resolver."

NOTE: You must turn off ad-blockers and allow third-party cookies in order to use the Save to RefWorks tool with your browser. Save to RefWorks may not work on secure sites (https://). If a site does not normally have bibliographic data it probably does not have a filter. In most cases, these sites will return the web page information. Your results may vary from site to site and even page to page.

Use the following steps to add the Save to RefWorks bookmarklet to your browser:

  1. In the main navigation, click on the Tools icon and select Tools.                                                                   Tools menu icon
  2. You will be redirected to the installation page. Click on the Install Save to RefWorks icon.Install Save to RefWorks screen
  3. Drag the Save to RefWorks button to your browser's Bookmarks/Favorites bar. NOTE: You must have your Bookmarks bar visible.                                                                                                                     Drag Save to RefWorks tool to bookmarks bar

NOTE: You must turn off ad-blockers and allow third-party cookies in order to use the Save to RefWorks tool with your browser.

 

Find Duplicates Tool

If you have a large number of references, you have added references in bulk from several sources, or you are simply forgetful, it can be helpful to have RefWorks find and eliminate any duplicates from your collection.

With RefWorks, you are creating your own database of resources. It is important that you maintain a clean and accurate database as content will be reflected when you produce in-text citations and reference lists. 

Duplicate references can cause various issues when creating your bibliography. If more than one instance is cited in your paper, then those duplicate references will display more than once in the bibliography list, even though they are the same citation, and apply an a, b, c, etc. convention. If you delete a duplicate reference and it has been cited in your paper, then an error message will display that the "reference was not found in your database" when trying to format your paper.

NOTE:

  • Removing duplicates is available for shared projects, but not shared folders. 
  • RefWorks can compare and find duplicates for up to 2,000 references.

To remove duplicate references:

1.     There are two ways to access the Find Duplicates tool:

  • In the main navigation, select Tools > Find Duplicates; OR                                                                                  Find Duplicates in Tools Menu                                                                                                                                        
  • In the My Folders tab, select Find Duplicates for a specific folder.                                                                         Find Duplicates tool in Folders                                                                                                                   

2.     The Find Duplicates dialog box appears. If you selected the action while viewing a folder, or search results (including a tag), you can select whether to search for duplicates across all of your references or only the ones in the current list. Select the criteria for matching according to the details beneath each of the options.

Find Duplicates dialog box

3.     Select Find Duplicates. If any duplicates are found, they are highlighted and pre-selected to make them easy to delete.

Find Duplicates Tool results

RefWorks allows you to view and read your documents without being connected to the internet using a service called Dropbox. You’ll need to download the Dropbox installer and create a Dropbox account which you will link to your RefWorks account.
 
To create a Dropbox Account: 

To link RefWorks to Dropbox:

1. Log into RefWorks.

2. Click your name, then select Settings.                                                                                                                                          Settings in RefWorks


3. Under Settings, scroll down the page until you see a section of the page called Dropbox.  Click the Connect button.
Connect Dropbox in RefWorks
4.  If you have a Dropbox account, enter your login credentials and click Sign In.  If you are new to Dropbox, click the Create Account link on the Dropbox site and download and install Dropbox on your computer.
 
5. You’ll be asked to give RefWorks permission to create a folder in your Dropbox called “ProQuest RefWorks” in your Apps folder.  This is where RefWorks will place a copy of your articles.
 
NOTE:

  • You can only store your own articles in Dropbox – articles in shared collections are not included.  All of your articles (regardless of what Collection they are filed in) are saved to your ProQuest RefWorks folder in your Apps folder.
  • After you first set up your connection from RefWorks to Dropbox, newly uploaded documents you save to RefWorks are automatically saved in Dropbox as well as.  When you remove a document from your RefWorks library, it will also be removed it from Dropbox as well.

 
To disconnect your RefWorks account from Dropbox:
1. Log in to RefWorks.
2. Click your name, then select Settings.
3. Scroll down and click the Unlink button in the Dropbox area of the page. RefWorks will no longer sync your files with Dropbox. Articles currently in your ProQuest RefWorks folder in Dropbox will remain.
Dropbox Unlink button in Settings in RefWorks