Skip to main content

Learn the Library

This guide contains resources for learning how to use the NCU Library and accessing its resources.

Welcome, JFKU Students, Staff, and Faculty!

View recorded Library quick tutorial videos and workshops. Download workshop outlines and transcripts.

Infographic outlining library services

Online Library Services and Resources

Library team members are available via phone, chat, and text during hours posted on the homepage. You can also submit a question to Ask A Librarian when live assistance is not available. 

Library guides provide relevant information, resources, and links on general topics and specific subjects. Start your research by browsing a LibGuide and explore specific books, databases, websites, and more!

The Library maintains access to more than 100 databases containing journals, magazines, newspapers, e-books, streaming videos, dissertations, financial data, and other information resources.

Search the JFKU Library Catalog using the search box below in order to locate items located at Pleasant Hill.

advanced search

Library workshops, group sessions, and orientations are a great way to quickly become familiar with the Library and get your questions answered! Sessions provide in-depth information about using library resources and services and include the Library Orientation and Library Dissertation Toolbox. Note that all Library events are scheduled in Mountain Standard Time. Click here for a Time Zone Converter.

Click here to access the Library Events page and register for an upcoming workshop. 

The Research Consultation service offers students an in-depth, personalized, one-on-one meeting with a reference librarian to discuss possible information resources and search strategies for class assignments, master’s theses, and doctoral dissertations.

Research consultations focus on: 

  • Developing your search strategy
  • Identifying relevant databases and journals
  • Finding and evaluating information resources
  • Discovering alternative search terms for your topic
  • Using advanced search techniques for specific databases
  • Narrowing your search results

Click here for more information about research consultations and booking an appointment.

 

Interlibrary loan is a lending service provided to currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff. This free service allows you to request and electronically receive articles, book chapters, reports, or other resources when not available in full-text through the Library.

Click here for more information about interlibrary loan.

RefWorks is a research management tool that allows you to collect references so that you can organize them into folders, keep track of them in your papers, and produce APA-formatted bibliographies. 

To create an account with RefWorks, please contact the Library. 

Loading ...

JFK University Library at Pleasant Hill

JFKU LIBRARY HOURS

Monday - Thursday 9:30 AM - 8 PM

Friday 9:30 AM -5 PM

Saturday 10 AM -5 PM

Sunday 1 PM -6 PM


LIBRARIAN

Jamie Diermier

jdiermier@jfku.edu

925-969-3124


 LIBRARY ASSISTANT

Ricardo Ramirez Castaneda

rcastaneda@jfku.edu

925-969-3100 

Databases for JFKU College of Law

These databases are accessible only to those affiliated with the JFKU College of Law. Please contact library@ncu.edu if you have any questions regarding access.

Writing Center

Writing Consultant

JFKU Writing Center

Joyce E. Young, M. A.

writingcenter@jfku.edu

(925) 969-3526

Students can send papers, ask questions and make requests through the writing center's e-mail address.


To schedule an appointment with the Writing Center:

  1. Log into SOAR
  2. Choose Blackboard
  3. Choose The Office of Student Experience
  4. Click on Writing Center (see menu on left side of page)
  5. Follow the instructions

Student appointment hours are held Monday - Friday 11 am - 6 pm.