Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Learn the Library

This guide contains resources for learning how to use NCU Library and accessing its resources.

SME / ID Resources

View recorded Library workshops. Download workshop outlines and transcripts.

Training Guides

Persistent URL FAQs

  • What is a persistent URL?

A persistent URL (PURL) is a durable link that connects users directly to an article, eBook, or other item in our Library.

  • Why should I be using them?

PURLs can be useful when creating syllabi, bibliographies, and other research tools. PURLs also help us remain in compliance with copyright rules when linking to Library resources. 

  • How do I capture persistent URLs?

Each Library database has a different process for capturing PURLs. This guide addresses the unique process for each database. 

  • What are some best practices if using PURLs?

Links are usually persistent but NOT necessarily permanent. PURLs may become obsolete over time, especially as our Library database subscriptions change year to year. Make sure to test links on a routine basis.
Copyright rules are no exception for PURLs. Make sure to cite the source when linking or downloading Library resources.
Not all database vendors offer PURLs. This guide covers all databases which do offer PURLs.

  • Why isn't every database listed here?

Unfortunately, not every NCU Library database supports persistent linking. The following databases currently do not support persistent linking: ETS Test Link, ReferenceUSA, Ulrichsweb, Web of Knowledge, Westlaw Campus Research. Please contact the Instructional Design Librarian (tduncan@ncu.edu) directly for alternative solutions for course integration. 

  • The persistent URL is producing an error or I don’t know how to capture it.

If a PURL is producing an error or you are unsure how to capture it, please contact the Library at library@ncu.edu or 888-628-1569.

 

Persistent URLs by Database with OpenAthens

Accessing a Resource Permalink in Roadrunner Search and EBSCOhost Databases

ALWAYS LIMIT SEARCHES TO FULL TEXT FOR COMPLETE ACCESS TO THE RESOURCE!

If you see the PDF or HTML file, then you are ready to capture the permalink. Click on the result and select Permalink from the Tools menu on the right-hand side.

Accessing a Resource Permalink in Roadrunner Search

If you see Link to Full Text, View Full Text Online, See Full Text From, or anything other than PDF/HTML, you will need to click the resource link to access and capture the permalink from the referenced database. Use the subsequent tabs in this guide for steps on obtaining the permalink from a specific database.

Capturing permalink for resource from a specific database in Roadrunner Search

Accessing a Resource Permalink in Alexander Street Press

Click Share at the top of the page. Then, click on Copy Permalink and Copy.

Obtaining permalink from Alexander Street Press

 

Accessing a Resource Permalink in ACM Digital Library

Use the following steps to access and create a resource permalink for ACM Digital Library:

1. First, right-click and copy the DOI link found near the top of the resource page.

Copy DOI link in ACM Digital Library

2. Next, enter the DOI link in the OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator to create an encoded access URL and permalink for NCU users. Then, click Copy for the new resource permalink. Your link should look similar to this example:

 https://go.openathens.net/redirector/ncu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fdoi.org%2F10.1145%2F3374587.3374635

OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator

Accessing a Resource Permalink in Annual Reviews

Use the following steps to access and create a resource permalink for Annual Reviews:

1. First, copy the link found in the URL address bar.

Accessing a permalink in Annual Reviews

2. Next, enter the link in the OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator to create an encoded access URL and permalink for NCU users. Then, click Copy for the new resource permalink. Your link should look similar to this example:

https://go.openathens.net/redirector/ncu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.annualreviews.org%2Fdoi%2Fabs%2F10.1146%2Fannurev-environ-110615-085634

OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator

Accessing a Resource Permalink in BioMed Central

Scroll down to the About this article section and copy the DOI link

Accessing a permalink in BioMed Central

Accessing a Resource Permalink in Cochrane Library

Use the following steps to access and create a resource permalink for Annual Reviews:

1. Right-click and copy the DOI link found near the top of the resource page.

Accessing a resource permalink in Cochrane Library

2. Enter the DOI link in the OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator to create an encoded access URL and permalink for NCU users. Then, click Copy for the new resource permalink. Your link should look similar to this example:

https://go.openathens.net/redirector/ncu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fdoi.org%2F10.1002%2F14651858.CD010070.pub3

OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator tool displaying new permalink for Cochrane Library

Accessing a Resource Permalink in CREDO Reference

Click on Page Link at the top of the resource page. Then, copy the link displayed.Obtaining a permalink in CREDO Reference

Accessing a Resource Permalink in the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Copy the DOI link found on the page. Double-check the link to ensure it connects you to the full-text article. 

Directory of Open Access Journals resource page example with DOI

Accessing a Resource Permalink in the Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

Copy the link in the URL field found on the resource's page. 

Directory of Open Access Books resource page displaying permalink

Accessing a Resource Permalink in Ebook Central

Click Share Link to Book and copy the link that appears in the pop-up window. 

Click on share link to book to copy a permalink in Ebook Central

Accessing a Resource Permalink in ERIC 

Right-click and copy the Download full text link. 

Resource record in ERIC displaying link to full text

Accessing a Resource Permalink in Films on Demand

Click the Share link directly below the video player. Then, select Embed/Link and copy the Record URL

Films on Demand resource page with Share icon highlighted to obtain permalink to a resource

Films on Demand embed/link window

Accessing a Resource Permalink in Gale

Use the following steps to access and create a resource permalink for Gale:

1. First, click the Get Link option in the right-hand corner of the page and copy the link.

Get link option in Gale

2. Next, you MUST edit the link provided by removing the &xid=***** value from the link prior to posting. Posting an incorrectly formatted link can be in violation of our licensing agreement.

INCORRECT: https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A418467179/AONE?u=pres1571&sid=bookmark-AONE&xid=43fe14fd

CORRECT WITHOUT THE &xid=***** value: https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A418467179/AONE?u=pres1571&sid=bookmark-AONE Get link option in GALE

Accessing a Resource Permalink in HeinOnline

Use the following steps to access and create a resource permalink for HeinOnline:

1. Click on the chain-link icon near the top of the page. Chain link icon in HeinOnline to obtain a permalink

2. Next, copy the HeinOnline link provided and enter the link in the OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator to create an encoded access URL and permalink for NCU users. Then, click Copy for the new resource permalink. Your link should look similar to this example:

https://go.openathens.net/redirector/ncu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fheinonline.org%2FHOL%2FP%3Fh%3Dhein.journals%2Fukalr12%26i%3D521

HeinOnline Copied resource link 

down arrow

OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator to create a resource permalink for HeinOnline

Accessing a Resource Permalink in Homeland Security Digital Security

Use the following steps to access and create a resource permalink for Homeland Security Digital Library:

1. First, click the Open Full Abstract link found below the resource title and copy the link in the URL field on the next page. 

Homeland Security Digital Library resource pageCopy link field in resource in Homeland Security Digital Library

2. Next, enter the URL in the OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator to create an encoded access URL and permalink for NCU users. Then, click Copy for the new resource permalink. Your link should look similar to this example:

https://go.openathens.net/redirector/ncu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.hsdl.org%2F%3Fview%26did%3D808154

OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator displaying an athenized link for Homeland Security Digital Library

Accessing a Resource Permalink in IEEE Xplore Digital Library

Use the following steps to access and create a resource permalink for IEEE Xplore Digital Library:

1. First, copy the link found in the URL address bar.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library access URL in browser bar

2. Next, enter the link in the OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator to create an encoded access URL and permalink for NCU users. Then, click Copy for the new resource permalink. Your link should look similar to this example:

https://go.openathens.net/redirector/ncu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fieeexplore.ieee.org%2Fdocument%2F9156050

OpenAthens redirector link generator creating a permalink for IEEE Xplore Digital Library

Accessing a Resource Permalink in IGI Global InfoSci

To link to an entire book or entire video, copy the link in the URL address bar. To link to a specific book chapter or video segment, right-click the title and copy the link for the specific section.

Obtaining a permalink in IGI Global

NOTE: When obtaining links from this database, users may be routed to the OpenAthens administration page where they must search Northcentral University under Find Your Institution. 

OpenAthens administration search page

Accessing a Resource Permalink in JSTOR Open Access 

Copy the link in the Stable URL field. 

JSTOR Open Access resource landing page

Accessing a Resource Permalink in LearnTechLib

Copy the link found in the URL address bar.

Obtaining a permalink from LearnTechLib using the URL address

NOTE: When obtaining links from this database, users may be routed to the OpenAthens administration page where they must search Northcentral University under Find Your Institution. 

OpenAthens administration search page

Accessing a Resource Permalink in MergentOnline

Copy the link found in the URL address bar.

Obtaining a permalink to a MergentOnline resource using the URL in the address bar

NOTE: When obtaining links from this database, users may be routed to the OpenAthens administration page where they must search Northcentral University under Find Your Institution. 

OpenAthens administration search page

Accessing a Resource Permalink in National Academies Press Free eBooks 

Scroll down to the Publication Info found towards the bottom of the resource page. Copy the DOI link found there.

NOTE: Users can freely read National Academies Press eBooks online. However, you must create a free account if you want to download the eBook in PDF format. 

Resource record in National Academies Press Free ebooks

 

Accessing a Resource Permalink in Nexis Uni

Click the Actions hyperlink found to the right of the resource title and click Link to this page from the drop-down that appears. Copy the resource permalink.NexisUni Link to Page option

NexisUni permalink

NOTE: When obtaining links from this database, users may be routed to the OpenAthens administration page where they must search Northcentral University under Find Your Institution. 

OpenAthens administration search page

Accessing a Resource Permalink in O'Reilly for Higher Education

You can create a permalink to an O'Reilly title by adding our main login URL as a prefix https://go.oreilly.com/northcentral-university/ followed by the URL to the resource title.

For example, if the title URL for Hands-On Machine Learning is https://learning.oreilly.com/library/view/hands-on-machine-learning/9781492032632/?ar 

Then, the permalink for the title is the main URL followed by the title URL:
https://go.oreilly.com/northcentral-university/https://learning.oreilly.com/library/view/hands-on-machine-learning/9781492032632/?ar

Accessing a Resource Permalink in Ovid

Use the following steps to access and create a resource permalink for Ovid:

1. First, click the Email Jumpstart link near the top of the page and copy the link that appears in the dropdown.

Email Jumpstart link in OVID

2. Next, enter the link in the OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator to create an encoded access URL and permalink for NCU users. Then, click Copy for the new resource permalink. Your link should look similar to this example:

https://go.openathens.net/redirector/ncu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fovidsp.ovid.com%2Fovidweb.cgi%3FT%3DJS%26CSC%3DY%26NEWS%3DN%26PAGE%3Dfulltext% 26D%3Dovft%26AN%3D00004650-900000000-99942%26PDF%3Dy

OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator for creating a link for OVID

Accessing a Resource Permalink in Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg eBooks are in the public domain and may be freely read online or downloaded in a variety of formats. To link to all of the available download and format options, simply grab the URL in the address bar. 

Project Gutenberg resource landing page with link highlighted in browser

Accessing a Resource Permalink in ProQuest

From the resource page, navigate over to the Abstract/Details tab. Scroll down on the page and copy the link found in the Document URL field.

ProQuest resource record

ProQuest record displaying document URL

Accessing a Resource Permalink in Psychiatry Online

Use the following steps to access and create a resource permalink for Psychiatry Online:

1. First, right-click and copy the DOI link found near the top of the resource page.

Psychiatry Online resource landing page with DOI link highlighted

2. Next, enter the DOI link in the OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator to create an encoded access URL and permalink for NCU users. Then, click Copy for the new resource permalink. Your link should look similar to this example:

https://go.openathens.net/redirector/ncu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fdoi.org%2F10.1176%2Fappi.books.9780890425596

OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator link creating a resource link for Psychiatry Online

Accessing a Resource Permalink in Psychotherapy.net

Copy the link in the URL address bar. 

Psychotherapy.net resource landing page with URL in address bar highlighted

NOTE: When obtaining links from this database, users may be routed to the OpenAthens administration page where they must search Northcentral University under Find Your Institution. 

OpenAthens administration search page

Accessing a Resource Permalink in SAGE Journals, SAGE Knowledge, and SAGE Research Methods

Use the following steps to access and create a resource permalink for SAGE Journals, SAGE Knowledge, and SAGE Research Methods:

1. First, copy the link found in the URL address bar.

Copying the link in the URL address bar for a SAGE resource

2. Next, enter the link in the OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator to create an encoded access URL and permalink for NCU users. Then, click Copy for the new resource permalink. Your link should look similar to this example:

https://go.openathens.net/redirector/ncu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fmethods.sagepub.com%2Freference%2Fthe-sage-encyclopedia-of-educational-research-measurement-and-evaluation%2Fi15659.xml

Creating a link for SAGE in the OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator

Accessing a Resource Permalink in SAGE Video

Click the Get Link icon found directly below the transcript.

Get link option in SAGE Video

Accessing a Resource Permalink in ScienceDirect

Use the following steps to access and create a resource permalink for ScienceDirect:

1. First, copy the URL found in the URL address bar. 

2. Next, enter the link in the OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator to create an encoded access URL and permalink for NCU users. Then, click Copy for the new resource permalink. Your link should look similar to this example:

https://go.openathens.net/redirector/ncu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.sciencedirect.com%2Fscience%2Farticle%2Fpii%2FS0039606018302186

NOTE: When obtaining resources from this database, first-time users may be required to click Access through Your Institution where they must search for Northcentral UniversityAccess through Your Institution in ScienceDirect

Accessing a Resource Permalink in SpringerLink

Use the following steps to access and create a resource permalink for SpringerLink:

1. First, copy the link found in the URL address bar.

SpringerLink resource landing page with URL link in address bar highlighted

2. Next, enter the link in the OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator to create an encoded access URL and permalink for NCU users. Then, click Copy for the new resource permalink. Your link should look similar to this example:

https://go.openathens.net/redirector/ncu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Flink.springer.com%2Farticle%2F10.1007%2Fs10880-015-9441-8

OpenAthens redirector link generator creating a resource link for a SpringerLink resource

Accessing a Resource Permalink in Statista

Copy the link in the URL address bar. 

Obtaining permalink for a Statista resource using the URL link in the address bar

NOTE: When obtaining links from this database, users may be routed to the OpenAthens administration page where they must search Northcentral University under Find Your Institution. 

OpenAthens administration search page

Accessing a Resource Permalink in Taylor & Francis

Use the following steps to access and create a resource permalink for Taylor & Francis:

1. First, right-click and copy the DOI link found near the top of the resource page.

Taylro & Francis resource landing page with DOI link highlighted

2. Next, enter the DOI link in the OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator to create an encoded access URL and permalink for NCU users. Then, click Copy for the new resource permalink. Your link should look similar to this example:

https://go.openathens.net/redirector/ncu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fdoi.org%2F10.1080%2F02607476.2020.1829965

OpenAthens redirector lnk generator tool displaying a resource permalink for Taylor & Francis article

Accessing a Resource Permalink in Wiley Online Library

Use the following steps to access and create a resource permalink for Wiley Online Library:

1. First, right-click and copy the DOI link found near the top of the resource page.

Wiley Online Library resource landing page with DOI link highlighted

2. Next, enter the DOI link in the OpenAthens Redirector Link Generator to create an encoded access URL and permalink for NCU users. Then, click Copy for the new resource permalink. Your link should look similar to this example:

https://go.openathens.net/redirector/ncu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fdoi.org%2F10.1111%2Fpolp.12411

OpenAthens redirector link generator creating a resource permalink for Wiley

Bad Request Error when Accessing a Library Resource

A Bad Request error can be attributed to an improperly formatted link to a resource. The NCU Library can assist with locating the resource and providing a properly formatted link to access it. If you have received this message in error, please contact the NCU Library directly by calling 888-628-1569, by texting 928-550-6552, by emailing library@ncu.edu, or by chatting with us during live help hours.Bad Request error in OpenAthens due to Improperly Formatted link

NCU Library Home

ASC Home

CTL Home

IRB Home

DSE Home

ADE Home

JFK Resource Home