Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Legal Writing Resources

This guide contains all of the ASC's legal writing resources.

Attending Legal Writing Sessions

Scheduling a Session

ATTN: You must be a registered user to schedule an appointment.

Register for coaching using the Academic Success Center Coaching Scheduler (WCOnline).WCOnline Login page

Individual Sessions:

If you would like to schedule an individual session with a legal writing coach, please use ASC Chat at the hours listed in ASC Contact Information to make that request.

 

Group Writing Sessions and Orientation:

Please use the Academic Success Center Coaching Scheduler to self-schedule any of the available group sessions.

Orientation- ASC and Law Library

Exploring the Academic Success Center and Law Library Orientation ion

January 6 and February 3 at 4:00 p.m.

January 16 and February 20 at 11:00 a.m.

Join us for a tour of the Academic Success Center (ASC) and Law Library, where you will learn what services are available to assist you with developing skills in legal writing and research.  The ASC and Library Law Resources Orientation is for law students who want to understand where to access resources for legal citations, writing, and research to provide you with the support you need to achieve your academic goals.  Coaching Scheduler

Issue Spotting 101 - Group Session

Issue Spotting Icon books on a table

 

Weekly Starting January 22 - Saturday at 11:00 a.m. 

The “I” in IRAC, the ever-elusive “issue” is the necessary component in assessing facts to determine the rule of law. This session will break down legal fact patterns to identify relevant information used to formulate the issue. Coaching Scheduler

Analyzing the Issue with the Rule

Books and Gavel on table

 

Weekly Starting January 22 - Saturday at 12:00 p.m. 

Now that you’ve conquered spotting the issue, it’s time to analyze for legal sufficiency! Analyzing the Issue with the Rule merges potential issues with the learned rule of law to formulate a clear and concise legal analysis. Coaching Scheduler

Legal Writing Power Hours

 

Legal Writing Power Hours

No appointment is required to attend. Use the provided link to enter the session


Hypo Happy Hour

Weekly Starting January 19 - Wednesday at 4:00 p.m. 

There’s nothing hypothetical about this happy hour! Spend the hour analyzing various hypos based on succinct rules of law. This is an open forum to allow students to focus on issue spotting based on either law given or what laws students have learned. 

This is an open Zoom session where you can come and discuss the rule of law with an accountability buddy, or two! Join legal writing coach, Gehrrie Bellamy any time during this informative session. The session begins at 3 pm Pacific / 4 pm Mountain / 5 pm Central / 6 pm Eastern.


JFK First-Year Forum

Weekly Starting January 16 - Sunday at 11:00 a.m. 

It’s not your imagination, law school is REALLY hard.  Come spend a couple of hours in this safe space where we will discuss various issues that arise for typical 1L students, including time management, tackling difficult concepts related to course assignments, and addressing potential barriers to success.   

Join our live legal writing power hours session for support, guidance, and accountability! This is an open Zoom session where you can come and complete your coursework without interruption with an accountability buddy, or two!

Join legal writing coach, Gehrrie Bellamy any time within the 2-hour block. The session begins at 11 am Pacific / 12 pm Mountain / 1 pm Central / 2 pm Eastern.

NCU Library Home

ASC Home

CTL Home

IRB Home

DSE Home

ADE Home

JFK Resource Home

Office of the Registrar Home