Skip to main content

Research Process

These pages offer an introduction to the research process at a very general level.

Citing Articles

Another resourceful method for uncovering similar resources is to take a look at the citing articles, or the articles which cited your original article. This can be an effective method particularly when you are looking for the latest research on your topic. You will be moving forward in time given that the citing articles are building off of the research established in your original article.

A number of Library databases will include hyperlinks to Citing Articles. Below is a comprehensive list of Library databases with accompanying screenshots which provide Cited By or Times Cited lists. Each individual reference will either have a PDF file available for immediate viewing or may feature our link resolver button, Article Linker.

Article Linker will connect you to the full text resource within another Library database if it is available. If Article Linker does not connect you to the full text, you may want to consider requesting the item through InterLibrary Loan.

For additional information, see the following:

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

To make searching in Google Scholar more effective, we recommend linking your Google Scholar account to NCU Library. See our Google Scholar FAQ for instructions on how to do so. To learn more, see the quick tutorial "Google Scholar Cited By."

Google Scholar screenshot with the "Cited by" link highlighted.

Citing Articles in Library Databases

ACM Digital Library article record screen with the Cited By tab highlighted.

Annual Reviews article record screen with the "This Review is Cited By" link highlighted.

EBSCOhost Databases [not available in MEDLINE, OmniFile Full Text Select, or Regional Business News]


EBSCO search results screen with the "Times Cited in this Database" link highlighted.

IEEE search results screen with the Cited by area highlighted.

ProQuest search results screen with the Cited by link highlighted.

SAGE Journals Online will connect you to citing articles via Google Scholar. SAGE also allows you to set up an email alert whenever that article is cited.

SAGE Journals Online article record screen with the "Citing articles via Google Scholar" link highlighted.

ScienceDirect article record screen with the Citing articles link highlighted.

Citations are available from the article record page directly below the abstract.

Taylor & Francis article record screen with the Citations tab highlighted.

 

You can also view the most cited articles (within the last 3 years) for that journal using the navigation to the left of your article record page.


Taylor & Francis article record screen with the "Most cited articles" tab highlighted.

Citing articles are available from the article record page to the right of the citation and abstract.

Web of Knowledge also allows you to set up a citation alert so that you are emailed whenever that article is cited.

 

There is an additional feature available from Web of Knowledge that allows users to create Citation Reports. A Citation Report  is a graphical representation that shows the citation relationships (cited references and citing articles) between a paper and other papers using various visualization tools and techniques. 

To run a citation report, click on the link that states the number of citations within the database searched. In the example below, the user would click on the link, '142 in All Databases.'

 

 

Next, click on Create Citation Report within the results that appear. 

 

 

This will generate a Citation Report using all the citations within the list. 

 

 

Within the citation report, you can run more detailed analytics that provide data based on author, year, journal title, subject category, and more. The citation report and analytics can be useful for a number of reasons including seeing the impact your original article has over diverse multidisciplinary subject fields, to see how widespread a paper has been distributed and read, and to see which institutions cited and were cited by the original article.


 

Wiley Online Library article record screen with the Cited By tab highlighted.

Loading ...