Many Library databases provide the ability to create alerts for content related to your research topic. Depending on the database's service, an alert can provide the table of contents to new issues of journals or a list of new articles based on search terms. Some databases even offer citation alerts, to inform you when a particular article has been cited. Setting up database alerts is a great way to find articles related to those which you have already included in your research. Additionally, it will help you to stay up to date with the latest research and trends in your discipline.
When you set up a search alert, the database automatically runs your search and sends you any search results added since the last time the search was run. You can set searches to run once a day, once a week, or less often.
Most alerts are provided by e-mail or RSS feed. Therefore, you will need to create individual database accounts in order to set up alerts, and in some cases have an RSS Reader account.
You may either set up a journal alert to be notified when new issues of a particular journal are published, or you may set up a search alert from a search screen. See the links below to learn more about how to set up these types of alerts.
Academic Video Online & Psychotherapy.net Collection (Alexander Street Press)
Why create an account
Any user accessing the site through NCU Library will be able to create a personal user account that can be used to save clips and playlists for as long as the user has access to Academic Video Online, including Psychotherapy.net Collection.
How to create an account
To create a new account, click the person icon at the top of any page on the site and select “Create New Account”. Your chosen user ID and the associated email address must be unique within our system. If you already have a user account but have forgotten your password, click the “Forgot Password” link on the sign-in page to reset it. If you wish to change any of the information associated with your account, including user image and short bio, you can do that from the “My Profile” tab once you have signed in.
There is no option to create alerts or RSS feeds for video content.
ACM Digital Library
The table of contents alert service sends an email alert when a new issue of an ACM journal, magazine, newsletter or proceedings has been posted in ACM. To create alerts, you must have an ACM Web Account.
You must register with Annual Reviews to subscribe to e-mail or RSS feed alerts for Table of Contents, Topics, or Journals, or save searches.
Once registered, log into your account and view the options as shown below:
Save Searches (Follow Results)
After you perform a keyword or phrase search, look for the option to Follow Results to the top right of your results, as shown below:
You can set up alerts when new Ebook Central titles match your search criteria. Follow the instructions below to create Ebook Central search alerts:
Films on Demand
This database offers monthly email notifications about new titles in certain subject areas.
1. First, create an account by clicking on Create Account in the upper right. During the account creation, you will be prompted to select the subjects that interest you.
2. Make sure to check off "I would like to receive emails about new titles added within these subject areas" and click Save Changes, as shown below.
If you already have an account, simply visit the My Films link on the blue menu bar. You will then receive an email at the beginning of each month with a link that lists all titles added within your selected subject areas in the past 30 days. You can modify your selected subjects or opt out at any time.
Gale Academic OneFile
You will be sent an email message to confirm that your request has been received. Then the system will check for new content based on the frequency you selected. The alert email will contain individual links up to the first 20 new content items plus a link to the full results set. All emails you receive will contain a link allowing you to opt out of the alert so that you no longer receive future alerts.
Gale RSS Feed Alert:
Gale Journal Alert:
Homeland Security Digital Library
Note: To access these services, users must create an individual account first. See the link below for detailed instructions on creating your account.
Create search alerts, table of content alerts, and topic alerts to keep current on new content in your research area. Creating alerts requires that you create a personal account. You will be prompted to create an account after attempting to create an alert for the first time.
You can start out by searching LearnTechLib using keywords related to your research. On the results screen, click on the link for Search Alert, as shown below.
Follow the instructions below to create company or executive alerts.
You may create and schedule alerts to deliver new documents matching your search as they become available in ProQuest. Note: Content from the ebrary e-books database will not be included in alert emails or RSS delivery at this time.
You will need to create a ProQuest My Research account to modify, delete, or view all of your alerts. Detailed instructions for each type of ProQuest alert appear below.
After you run a search, you can save it to your My Research account. Your saved searches are listed on the Searches tab in My Research. Your searches are listed in descending order, meaning your most recent saved search is at the top and your oldest saved search at the bottom.
To save a search to My Research:
ProQuest Publication alerts
Provides a way for you to find specific publications, such as newspapers or magazines, and browse individual issues. When you browse or search for a publication, and it’s available, you can click the publication title to display a page that provides details about that publication.
Click the Create alert link to define your publication alert details. After responding to an email from ProQuest to confirm the email address you provided, your alert is activated.
For more information on creating and managing your My Research account saved searches and alerts, see the link below.
Register for a personal account in order to setup Publication Alerts, Topic Alerts, and Content Alerts. Click Sign In at the top of the screen and then click Register Now. After logging in, follow the below instructions for setting up alerts.
PsychiatryOnline Publication Alerts
Publication alerts will notify you when the current journal issue is available.
PsychiatryOnline Topic Alerts
Topic alerts will notify you when any resources related to that topic are added to PsychiatryOnline. This may include journal articles, news, best practices, and books.
PubMed allows you to subscribe to the PubMed New and Noteworthy RSS feed. To do so, click on the link as shown below.
Finally, you may save, automate your searches and have the results E-mailed to you through a free MyNCBI account. Follow the instructions below for saving searches and setting up email alerts.
You must create an individual account in order to setup SAGE alerts, save searches and save journals. Once you have signed in, click on the My Tools tab and then Add/edit/delete email alerts, as shown below.
The following types of Email Alerts are available for most SAGE journals:
SAGE Knowledge/Navigator/Research Methods & Videos
Save searches and create lists that contain SAGE Knowledge, Navigator, Research Methods & Video content. You will first need to login to your Profile account and/or sign up for a new account to save searches and create lists.
Save Content and Create Lists
Once logged in, browse or search for content. Click the icon as shown below to save the item to a list that you create. If you do not yet have any lists, you will be promoted to create one before you can save your content item.
To save your searches, simply conduct a search using the basic or advanced search boxes, then on the search results page, click the floppy disc icon as shown in the image below:
NOTE: creating this Profile account is valid for SAGE Knowledge, Navigator, Research Methods and Videos. You will need to create a different account for SAGE Journals.
You must create an individual account in order setup ScienceDirect alerts. To do so, click the link to Sign In at the top of the screen, and then click Not Registered? to create your account. Once you have signed in, click the plus sign (+) next to your name and then Manage my alerts, as shown below.
A description of the various types of ScienceDirect alerts also appears below.
For further information on ScienceDirect alerts, including a tutorial video, please see links below.
SpringerLink allows you subscribe to search results via RSS feed. To do so, simply click on the RSS icon on the search results screen, as shown below.
You may also set up Table of Contents alerts for specific Springer journals. To do so, locate the journal that you are interested in and then click on the links to Stay up to Date, as shown below.
Select Register for journal updates and on the next page look for the box that allows you to enter your email address:
You may subscribe to the Statista RSS to say up-to-date on new content added. Look for the RSS icon at the bottom of any Statista page, as shown below.
Taylor & Francis Online
You must create an individual account in order to setup Taylor & Francis journal alerts. To do so, click the Register link at the top of the screen. Fill out the information requested. A confirmation email will be sent to the address you have provided. You must respond to the confirmation email to activate your account.
New Content (TOC) Alerts
You must create an individual account in order setup Ulrichsweb alerts. To do so, click Log in to My Ulrich's at the top of the screen. Next, click Create a New Account. Fill out the information requested.
Once you have logged in, click on the Workspace link in order to setup your alerts. Then, click on the Alerts tab, as shown below. Once there, click on Create Alert on the right hand side of the screen. You may setup alerts to be notified when journals in your subject area have ceased publication or have changed titles, or when new publications have been added.
Web of Knowledge / Web of Science
You must create a personal account in order to create alerts for Web of Knowledge. To register, click Sign In in the upper right hand corner of the screen, and then select Register. Fill out the information requested to create your account. Once you have logged into your account, you will be able to set Citation Alerts and Saved Searches.
This feature allows you to receive an e-mail alert when articles you select are cited. Alternately, you can use this feature to keep a list of your favorite articles. To add an article to this list (and receive an e-mail each time it is cited), follow the instructions below.
This feature allows you to receive email alerts or RSS feeds of the latest documents which result from running your search query. You may create as many alerts as you need. Follow the instructions below for creating alerts for Saved Searches.
Wiley Online Library
You must create a personal account in order to create alerts for Wiley Online To register, click Log in/Register in the upper right hand corner of the screen, and then select Register. Fill out the information requested and click Submit registration. Once you have logged into your account, you will be able to set email alerts for new content and saved searches. To manage existing Wiley alerts, click on My Profile at the top of the screen, and then select Alert Manager. To set alerts follow the instructions below.
You can sign up to receive an e-mail alert containing the table of contents for any Wiley Online Library journals. Simply find publications of interest using Publications or Browse by Subject and choose Get New Content Alert from the Journal Tools menu, as shown below. For journals publishing Accepted and Early View articles, these will be included in your e-mail alerts.
You can be notified by e-mail when new papers are published that match your search criteria. Simply conduct a search and choose on the Search Results page, as shown below.
You do not need a Google Account in order to create search alerts and citation alerts. You can enter any email address of your choice. If the email address isn't a Google account or doesn't match your Google account, then Google will email you a verification link, which you'll need to click in order to start receiving alerts.
To create a search alert, search for the topic of interest, and click the envelope icon in the sidebar of the search results page, as shown below. Enter your email address, and click Create alert. Google Scholar will then periodically email you newly published papers that match your search criteria. There's a link to cancel the alert at the bottom of every notification email.
To create a Google Scholar citation alert, search for the title of your article and then click on the Cited by link, as shown below. Next, click on the envelope icon in the left sidebar of the search results page. Enter your email address, and click Create alert.
You can get emails when new results for a topic show up in Google Search. For example, you can set alerts for your topic keywords or for researcher names.
Create an Alert
Edit an Alert
Delete an Alert
Feedly is an RSS feed reader and news aggregator that allows you to organize, read, and share content from your favorite sites. To create a Feedly account go to www.feedly.com and click the GET STARTED FOR FREE button. You can sign up for Feedly with an existing Facebook or Google account. Alternatively, you can continue with Feedly and register a new account.
For more information on RSS please see our FAQ:
RSS: What is RSS? How do I subscribe to RSS feeds?
For more information on Feedly and RSS please see our quick tutorial:
Talkwalker Alerts is a free an easy alternative to Google Alerts. Monitor the Web for interesting new content about your name, brand, competitors, events or any favorite topic. Talkwalker Alerts makes social media monitoring easy and brings every single mention of your brand across the internet - from websites, blogs, forums and even Twitter to your inbox in one email.
Use Boolean operators to narrow down on the results that matter the most to you. Customize your alerts so you receive only the most relevant ones.
How can I set up an alert?
Setting up Talkwalker Alerts takes a few seconds. All you need to do is follow the steps below:
In order to set up an RSS feed, you have to log in to your alerts account by clicking on Talkwalker Alerts, and then click on the “Manage” tab. Next, you simply have to click on the RSS icon next to the alert for which you would like to create an RSS feed and copy the XML file. Then add it to your feed reader, such as Feedly.
If you’d like to set up an RSS feed for all of your alerts, you can click on the master RSS icon above all of the alerts and then paste it as a new source in your feed reader.